top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAqeel Parvez

action

We are looking for meaning in everything. Something to make sense of. And I think meaning can be a single word. A single look. A single action. A single thought. I love reading books to completion, like all of us I like to finish what I've started. But a sentence is sometimes enough. As Hemingway said, 'write one true sentence'. One word can drive a man. Can give a man meaning in his life. Undoubtedly it is through action that this meaning is solidified. Theoretical meaning is a pile of shit. Thinkers are often full of shit. It is better to look at what people have done always. And I strive to do more. Think less. Or only think after the act. This is reflection, the time for thinking. I say this because I am prone to overthinking. To over analysis. And this has stunted me too many times. So now I strive to act. Even if the act itself is little. If it is just one sentence. 5 minutes. One poem. It is often easier to tell yourself 'pick up the pen' rather than say 'write a book'. That comes later. The details take care of themselves. I think it was Woody Allen that said 'half of success is turning up'. That's it. Turning up and doing something. Anything, however small. However inconsequential. The days pile on top of themselves like legos. Rome wasn't built... Now one day, 6 months or a year down the line, you look back at the accumulation of those little actions and think 'well shit, that's a good fucking pile of work I've got there'. Something is better than nothing and nothing can become your everything. Move, act, create. That's it.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

shadows

cloudburst symphonies fall like soft rain, receding into submission, closed curtain secrecy. a black fly s t r e t c h e s a wing a wing. shadows betray the unseen, I stagger towards the light

chippin away at it

writing is an unburdening of the soul. a total release. a rebellion against control. often a painful process. an act that brings with it fear and the unknown. an explosion. delayed gratification. a my

fear and uncertainty

there comes a time when we have to face ourselves. to face our demons. confront our mortality. in a cage. under the lights. or on a stage. at knifepoint. we are tested. we will be tested. when there

bottom of page