top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAqeel Parvez

testosterone injections at the call centre


banana peel sunsets

colleagues wearing

cardboard cut-out faces

my headset is a vice


hell is between the ears

and over them too


Amanda calls

from Dublin

talking in a high sexy tone

digging at my soul

or some godly thing


she says I have

a nice accent

and asks

where I'm from


there's a kindness

a vulnerability

in the way she talks


and I'm suddenly hard

rising

rising

hard


blood clot cock

like a rising hammer


the skull tightens


I take her card payment

and she says I should

come over to Dublin

some time


I tell her yes I will

but I wont go to Dublin

an I'll never see Amanda

then I hang up the phone


the next call

comes fast

and the next

and the next



This poem was previously published in the chapbook 'The Streetlights are Beckoning Nirvana' (Analog Submission Press)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

shadows

cloudburst symphonies fall like soft rain, receding into submission, closed curtain secrecy. a black fly s t r e t c h e s a wing a wing. shadows betray the unseen, I stagger towards the light

chippin away at it

writing is an unburdening of the soul. a total release. a rebellion against control. often a painful process. an act that brings with it fear and the unknown. an explosion. delayed gratification. a my

fear and uncertainty

there comes a time when we have to face ourselves. to face our demons. confront our mortality. in a cage. under the lights. or on a stage. at knifepoint. we are tested. we will be tested. when there

bottom of page